To propose innovative interdisciplinary approaches in research and teaching and the dissemination of knowledge contributing to a better understanding of the role of religions and the dynamics of identity in contemporary societies.

 

The Interdisciplinary Thematic Institute HiSAAR is dedicated to the critical study of religions through a multidisciplinary French, European and more widely international collaboration. This ITI gives the University of Strasbourg the means to increase its involvement in the socio-economic environment as well as in the fields of training and education.

 

Ambitions

The HiSAAR interdisciplinary thematic institute aims at studying religious facts in an innovative perspective - religious re-structuring: internal transformations and external interactions - which implies an ambitious interdisciplinarity and a transdisciplinary approach: history, sociology, archaeology and anthropology.

 

Themes and challenges in research

The HiSAAR interdisciplinary thematic institute aims to train specialists in the critical study of religious traditions with a solid knowledge of the literary sources, languages, historical events and cultures in which these traditions were produced.

The methodological approach of this ITI, based on the interdisciplinarity of the many Master's degree courses attached to it and practiced by its main leaders, is profoundly innovative. Providing a variety of methodological tools, this innovative approach opens to the analysis of religious facts through all the disciplines of the human sciences.

This ITI combines an in-depth knowledge of the historical and cultural development of the great religions from antiquity to the present day through the direct reading of primary textual sources, which involves specific linguistic and philological knowledge of the founding texts of the religions as well as the doctrinal and commentary production crystallized in the various traditions, coupled with fundamental contributions from archaeology, sociology, ethnology and anthropology.

The five training and research axes of ITI HiSAAR are:

  •     Text, intertextuality and tradition.
  •     Identities and otherness.
  •     Religions and politics
  •     Ritual practices: gestures, objects and representations.
  •     Sex, gender and religions.

The HiSAAR ITI was created for a period of 8 years, from January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2028, and has received financial support from IdEx Unistra (ANR-10-IDEX-0002), and funding from the Investissements d'Avenir program within the framework of the SFRI-STRAT'US project (ANR-20-SFRI-0012).

 

Three major challenges

 

Exploiting the multidisciplinary nature of research

HiSAAR draws on the strong research potential of the University of Strasbourg in the field of religious systems of yesterday and today. Archaeologists, historians, philologists, sociologists and ethnologists from Strasbourg cover a long chronology, from prehistory to the present day, and a large area, from the Americas to the Far East.

Federating research

HiSAAR decompartmentalizes the often binary and ideologically oriented representative constructions of religions. Its ambition is to compare the religious systems that have existed or are still alive today in their internal functioning and in their interactions with their societal environment. All the research of the University of Strasbourg is thus federated in an unprecedented way.

Rely on a variety of methodologies

HiSAAR uses methodologies as diversified as its fields of research. It relies as much on textual and intertextual studies, the fabrication of identities and alterities, the societal boundaries between religions and political power, ritual practices and their objects materializing belief, as well as on the interactions between religions, sexual practices and gender.

 

A unique training offer

The training offered by HiSAAR integrates a large number of religious systems as well as historical or contemporary themes such as religious plurality, the recomposition of religious identities, the state regulation of religion, secularism or the processes of radicalization. This training of scientific excellence, offered to master's students and doctoral students, will be sanctioned by the HiSAAR University Diploma.

Proposer des approches interdisciplinaires innovantes dans la recherche et l'enseignement et la diffusion des connaissances contribuant à une meilleure compréhension du rôle des religions et des dynamiques identitaires dans les sociétés contemporaines.

 

L’Institut Thématique Interdisciplinaire HiSAAR est dédié à l’étude critique des religions par une collaboration pluridisciplinaire française, européenne et plus largement internationale. Cet ITI donne à l’Université de Strasbourg les moyens d’accroître son implication dans les milieux socio-économiques ainsi que dans les domaines de la formation et de l’éducation.

 

Ambitions

L'Institut thématique interdisciplinaire HiSAAR a pour objectif l'étude des faits religieux dans une perspective innovante - re-structurations religieuses : transformations internes et interactions externes - qui implique une interdisciplinarité ambitieuse et une approche transdisciplinaire : histoire, sociologie, archéologie et anthropologie.

Thématiques et défis en recherche

L'Institut thématique interdisciplinaire HiSAAR vise à former des spécialistes de l'étude critique des traditions religieuses avec une solide connaissance des sources littéraires, des langues, des événements historiques et des cultures dans lesquelles ces traditions ont été produites.

L’approche méthodologique de cet ITI, fondée sur l’interdisciplinarité des nombreux parcours de Master qui lui sont rattachés et qui est pratiquée par ses principaux responsables, est profondément novatrice. Fournissant une variété d'outils méthodologiques, cette approche innovante ouvre à l'analyse des faits religieux à travers l'ensemble des disciplines des sciences humaines.

Cet ITI combine une connaissance approfondie du développement historique et culturel des grandes religions de l'Antiquité à nos jours par la lecture directe des sources textuelles primaires qui implique des connaissances linguistiques et philologiques spécifiques, relatives aux textes fondateurs des religions ainsi qu'à la production doctrinale et commentariale cristallisée dans les différentes traditions, doublée des apports fondamentaux de l'archéologie, de la sociologie, de l'ethnologie et de l'anthropologie.

Les cinq axes de formation et de recherche de l'ITI HiSAAR sont :

  • Texte, intertextualité et tradition.
  • Identités et altérités.
  • Religions et politique
  • Pratiques rituelles : gestes, objets et représentations.
  • Sexe, genre et religions.

L'ITI HiSAAR a été crée pour une durée de 8 ans, du 1er janvier 2021 au 31 décembre 2028 et a bénéficié du soutien financier de l’IdEx Unistra (ANR-10-IDEX-0002), et du financement au titre du programme d'Investissements d'Avenir dans le cadre du projet SFRI-STRAT’US (ANR-20-SFRI-0012).

 

Trois grands défis

 

Exploiter la pluridisciplinarité de la recherche

HiSAAR s’appuie sur le fort potentiel de recherche de l’Université de Strasbourg dans le domaine des systèmes religieux d’hier et d’aujourd’hui. Les archéologues, historiens, philologues, sociologues et ethnologues strasbourgeois couvrent une longue chronologie, depuis la préhistoire jusqu’à nos jours, et un large espace, des Amériques jusqu’à l’Extrême-Orient.

Fédérer la recherche

HiSAAR décloisonne les constructions représentatives sur les religions, souvent binaires et idéologiquement orientées. Il a pour ambition de comparer les systèmes religieux qui ont existé ou qui sont aujourd’hui encore vivants dans leur mode de fonctionnement interne et dans leurs interactions avec leur environnement sociétal. C’est toute la recherche de l‘Université de Strasbourg qui se fédère est ainsi fédérée de manière inédite.

S’appuyer sur des méthodologies variées

HiSAAR utilise des méthodologies aussi diversifiées que ses champs de recherche. Il s’appuie tout autant sur l’étude textuelle et intertextuelle, la fabrique des identités et des altérités, les frontières sociétales entre religions et pouvoir politique, les pratiques rituelles et leurs objets matérialisant la croyance ainsi que sur les interactions entre religions, pratiques sexuelles et genre.

 

Une offre de formation inédite

Les formations proposées par HiSAAR intègrent un nombre important de systèmes religieux ainsi que les thématiques historiques ou contemporaines telles que la pluralité religieuse, la recomposition des identités religieuses, la régulation étatique du religieux, la laïcité ou les processus de radicalisation. Cette formation d’excellence scientifique, proposée aux masterisants et aux doctorants, sera sanctionnée par le Diplôme Universitaire HiSAAR.